Read The Second Greatest Story Ever Told by Gorman Bechard Online

the-second-greatest-story-ever-told

Ilona Coggswater, product of the MTV generation, and Daughter of God, reveals herself to be Our Savior in 1988. Her only commandment: "Be Kind". Her challenge: To save a world not eager to be saved. An enchanting, humorous, timely novel, in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Tom Robbins, about our culture of celebrity and spirituality on the brink of the Millennium....

Title : The Second Greatest Story Ever Told
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780806512631
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 291 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Second Greatest Story Ever Told Reviews

  • Timothy Juhl
    2018-10-31 05:23

    Perhaps one of the best satires on organized religion no one's ever read.Written at the heighth of the Jim & Tammy Bakker phenomenon, the author skewers the church and its misplaced directives.An easy read, witty and insightful at once with a central character in Ilona Cogswater (God's daughter who becomes a spokesperson for Tab Cola), this is one of those rare finds.To this day, I still thank the co-worker who recommended this little-known title.

  • Caryn Rose
    2018-11-05 05:22

    What if God decided that this time, he was going to send his Daughter to continue the family business? Except that she's born in Cooperstown, her first word is 'Seaver,' she worships Tab, the Replacements and Elvis Costello? THE SECOND GREATEST STORY EVER TOLD is one of my all-time favorite books, and I'm thrilled that it's been revived from its sad out-of-print status. ebook is coming shortly, or so I am told.

  • Shannon
    2018-10-25 04:12

    This book was a gift years ago from my good friend, Leah, and I still enjoy the hell out of it. It's a story about the Allmighty's daughter, who came to Earth to get across the message "Be Kind" to people. It's funny, makes you really think long and hard, and feel good about humans and the divine. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Penny Wermescher
    2018-11-10 02:25

    One of my top 12 all-time favorite books.

  • Jeanne Burkhart
    2018-11-07 06:24

    I loved this book. Another one Paulette turned me on to. Good humor and good message.

  • Jake
    2018-11-07 06:32

    I am getting old.And as I get older, I find male authors putting women in uncomfortable sexual situations and having their characters react like it's nothing appeals to me less and less.So I really wanted to read this book because it's billed as good, underrated religious satire. It's been sitting on my shelf for the better part of five years and I figured now, in the days leading up to Holy Week, it was time to take it on.As pretty much all of the western world knows, the Bible tells the story of Jesus being born to a woman who was impregnated without having sex.* Many don't know that only two of the four Gospels reference this, and they are the only two books in the Bible that share that story. Whether you believe it or not, it's a familiar tale.This book is billed as the coming of Jesus' "sister," the daughter of God. Cool. And in theory, it tries to follow some of the same narrative of the traditionally understood Jesus story. I'm with ya. So the author wanted to write a story about the mother of the "daughter of God" getting impregnated from birth. All right. So the mother gets drunk once at a high school party. Red flags kick in but I continue. She passes out on a bed. (oh no). She wakes up the next morning next to the handsome guy from the school. Oh cool, he's gay so he couldn't have touched me, ha ha. So she doesn't seem upset at all that she woke up in bed next to a man who may or may not have had sex with her. And then she finds out later that she's pregnant. But not to worry, she gets a vision from an angel named Gabriel that she's bearing God's child and it's all good. I can't. I just can't.I'm not a woman. And I've never been raped. So I don't know how one is supposed to act. But I feel like when you wake up from a night of drinking, and you may or may not have had anonymous sex of which you don't remember, and then you get pregnant as a result, you're going to feel more than a little violated. I don't know if the author was using this as a trope to suss out if the Jesus-sister was actually the result of a virgin birth or a drunken one-night stand. I didn't stick around to find out.I guess we all have deal breakers when it comes to our cultural entertainment. And this is mine.I might go back to this book one day. Or not. I don't know. *-This is NOT the immaculate conception, by the way. The immaculate conception is the long held Catholic dogmatic stance that Mary was born without sin.

  • C.J. Lines
    2018-10-29 23:11

    "The Second Greatest Story Ever Told" may not actually live up to its name but it's pretty damn close. Anyone who enjoys the spiritual irreverence of Tom Robbins or Christopher Moore's "Lamb" is guaranteed a big kick out of this. As is anyone who just needs a bit of cheering up, to be honest. It begins in the 1970s. Having already sent his Son (perhaps twice), God decides that humanity is still doing it wrong and sends his Daughter. She takes the human form of Ilona Ann Coggswater from Cooperstown, New York who, as she grows up, takes on a one-woman mission to save the world from itself and teach her simple, two-word message - "Be kind". There's some wonderfully funny satire here as the Daughter of God faces the trials and tribulations of any major celebrity (including a hysterical scene in which she appears in a cola commercial directed by Adrian Lyne), some manic surrealism (Bechard's description of Hell is the stuff of genius) and the occasional spot of righteous polemic on environmental and political issues. However, all over every page, is a massive heart, presumably still bleeding from the pin wound it got when Gorman Bechard's stuck it on his sleeve. I think it takes guts to write such an unashamedly optimistic novel and to do it without a shred of cynicism or self-consciousness but it's precisely this that makes it so much fun to read. The style of the writing (which often mimics the Bible, repetition and all) is distinctive and Bechard's "voice" feels strong and assured. The book is littered liberally with his obsessions (the author has boasted that this is the only novel in history to feature a fictional vesion of The Replacements) and one could easily level the accusation of self-indulgence at him. However, it's nice to see someone indulge, even gorge themselves, on the things they truly enjoy instead of just wrestling with their demons, for a change. That's not to say there isn't a serious (and even, once or twice, deeply moving) side to the book but its main agenda is clearly to make the reader smile. Something it did admirably in the case of this reader. There are so many goofy jokes and quotations that'll stay with you and make you want to spout them at all your friends. You'll just be gutted that none of your friends will get the reference. My recommendation therefore would be to buy one for yourself and one for a buddy. It's worth it.

  • Jess
    2018-10-26 01:19

    Underrated satire about organized religion just about sums it up. Second Greatest Story follows Ilona - Jesus' sister and Daughter of God - as she attempts to tidy up the world. It's incredibly short, very funny, and spot on in its accusations against organized religion. My favorite aspect is probably the flash forward and back nature, while portraying Ilona as a pop culture phenomenon - its similar to Carrie, in that it references characters in the novel and their books written on Ilona, media coverage, etc, etc. Worth the time, especially considering it will take no time to read at all!

  • Tracy Hassett
    2018-10-23 06:35

    Found this book in the bargin bin in high school and bought it just because the premise was so intriguing...the title character, a girl, is God's daughter. It was surprisingly refreshing and clever, at least that is what I thought when I was 16 years old. Would re-read it to see if it is still has good as i thought by I gave it to a roommate (Amy) to read and never got it back...She is much more pious than I, so maybe she found it blasphemous and burned it? Kidding.

  • Becky Coburn
    2018-10-22 03:14

    Amanda gave me this book when I was 17 and I adored it. As a feminist Catholic at the time, I couldn't get enough of this story about the daughter of God. John gave me this book as a gift when I was 25, and surprisingly as an agnostic it still spoke to me. I look forward to reading it again, in the next phase of my life.

  • Debbie
    2018-11-14 04:25

    This was a quick and very fun read about Ilona, the Daughter of God. She loves Tab, wears all black, champions the environment, is a vegetarian, and has only one message to humanity: "Be Kind." If only...

  • Kristine
    2018-11-10 03:24

    The world needs a makeover and God sends his 18-year-old daughter to handle the task. Funny, poignant, irreverent, with a strong female protagonist. Set in the 80s with it's message to 'Be Kind' it's as timely now as when I first read it.

  • Jessie
    2018-10-28 06:31

    I'm not religious at all but this book was amazing. It points out the human alterior motives hidden in religion in a very hilarious way. The daughter of God is born on earth to give saving everyone a whirl in the 80's. She turns water into Tab, need I say more.

  • Kaethe
    2018-11-18 02:17

    I read this and James Morrow's Only Begotten Daughterand really enjoyed them both. This was more fun (the Pope is sternly spoken to), Morrow's more serious.Personal copy

  • Joey Brown
    2018-10-24 23:34

    re reading. Media and religion. God's daughter comes to earth inn the 80's.

  • Robert Pruchniewicz
    2018-11-02 07:14

    I had hoped to enjoy this book more then I did. Although the author does touch upon some interesting ideas, his writing style was ultimately too simplistic.

  • Susan
    2018-10-25 06:22

    How often do you literally laugh out loud when reading a book? You will with this one! Trust me - this is hysterical and a wonderful story.

  • Melanie Fish
    2018-10-28 04:26

    I wish...

  • Jonathan
    2018-11-18 01:24

    Clever reworking of the New Testament narrative with a decidedly more appealing protagonist.

  • Beth
    2018-11-08 05:18

    This is a great book to empower young girls. It is a stretch if you a devout Christian, I guess, but I read it over and over and enjoy it.

  • SF_Reads (Mod)
    2018-11-05 01:36

    I read this ages ago and remember loving loving loving it. Sadly I have lost the book jacket but I did just find the book in my bookshelf. I may reread it soon, so my 5 star rating is provisional.

  • Annette
    2018-11-08 05:36

    The daughter of God sent to Earth to clear up a few things since we humans found all those pesky commandments too hard to understand? Brilliant. "Just be nice". Indeed.

  • ette
    2018-10-28 04:30

    This is such a delight to read--good humor and some underlying serious themes.God sends another child, this time, God's daughter.

  • Karen
    2018-11-19 00:17

    I read this book years ago and it is still one of my favorites. Very interesting read on what would happen.

  • Tabatha
    2018-11-22 03:34

    Funny and engaging, but a little dated in some of the cultural references. Do they even make Tab anymore?

  • samira fardkohan
    2018-11-16 07:12

    drawing image

  • Shaun
    2018-10-25 01:14

    An 18 year old Replacements fan as the Messiah? Finally, a brand of religion I can get behind!

  • Alicia
    2018-11-19 06:25

    I enjoyed the concept, and especially liked the first third of the book.

  • Dichotomy Girl
    2018-11-11 00:15

    Read this probably 20 years ago, I remember almost nothing about it, but it for some reason popped into my head today.