Read It Should Have Been You by Lynn Slaughter Online

it-should-have-been-you

A cyberstalked high-school advice columnist takes matters into her own hands to discover the secrets behind her twin sister's murder in this intense and compelling mystery thriller.Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s newspaper. She’s funny, feisty, and cares deeply about making a difference in people’s lives, but her own personalA cyberstalked high-school advice columnist takes matters into her own hands to discover the secrets behind her twin sister's murder in this intense and compelling mystery thriller.Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s newspaper. She’s funny, feisty, and cares deeply about making a difference in people’s lives, but her own personal problems threaten to overwhelm her. Five months ago, her twin, Moura, was murdered. Soon threatening emails start to arrive at her staff inbox. Convinced that her email stalker blames Clara for her sister’s death and is out for revenge, she decides to undertake her own investigation. Can she solve the murder in time to save herself? This suspenseful page-turner about a complicated sibling relationship is perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Fangirl, I'll Give You the Sun, and Vanishing Girls. Secrets, lies, brilliantly crafted twists and turns, and a dual mystery will keep readers in suspense until the very last page. Although primarily a whodunit, this novel also focuses on important social themes high-school teens face. Lynn blends a page-turning mystery thriller with sweet romance and demonstrates the very real effects of grief, rivalry, sexuality, dating violence, and bullying on today's youth. Clara is believable, relatable, smart, snarky, brave, and conscientious. Her strong teen voice will resonate with a wide audience, and she is a perfect role model for teens who are dealing with similar social issues....

Title : It Should Have Been You
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781624145353
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 320 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

It Should Have Been You Reviews

  • Dylan
    2018-10-05 14:42

    I don't wanna talk about it.

  • Lauren
    2018-10-13 14:48

    YA thrillers have been on fire lately - Karen M. McManus' One of Us Is Lying, Amanda Searcy's The Truth Beneath the Lies, and now Lynn Slaughter's It Should Have Been You. When It Should Have Been You first appeared in my mailbox I was intrigued. The premise sounded interesting, and I was looking forward to trying one of Page Street Kids new YA titles. As it turns out, this book blew me away! It's Veronica Mars meets One of Us is Lying. It's well written, suspenseful, and compelling. It's a book that calls to be read in one sitting because once you start you just can't stop. It Should Have Been You begins the story of Clara Seibert, the twin left behind. When Clara's sister was brutally murdered in their own home, Clara's life was turned upside down. Her family has fallen apart, her mother can barely stand to look at her, and her sister's fan base believes Clara is the killer. It doesn't help that Clara is having a hard time grieving. Her sister and her were never close - she barely knew her - so how can you truly grieve someone, a twin to make matters worse, that you didn't know the first thing about? When Clara starts receiving threatening letters, claiming it should have been her, she decides she needs to take action: she needs to find out who's behind this before they kill her next. Part of what made It Should Have Been You so fantastic was Clara. Clara is stronger than she gives herself credit for. She's also wickedly smart, a good friend, and an even better advice columnist. I loved that Lynn Slaughter brought Clara's hobbies out front and center. It was always interesting to see what questions she would get for her advice column, and it brought out such a wise, helpful part of Clara. Honestly, she'd be the person to go to if you have a problem! I also found her relationship with her sister Moura to be fascinating. With this kind of book you'd figure her and her sister would have been super close, but that wasn't the case at all. Clara barely knew her beyond the superficial level, and as it turns out, her sisters was hiding a lot of secrets. The plot in this kept me on my toes the whole way through! I never could quite pin down who the bad guy was, and the times where I was sure I was right, I ended up being completely wrong. What made it even more thrilling that everyone seemed to be a suspect at some point. Constantly, I was double guessing everyone's motives, especially when it came to Moura's inner circle. What I loved even more was how well Lynn Slaughter pulled everything together at the end. I don't want to say too much, but I will say everything was a lot more connected than I could have ever imagined! Additionally, there was a touch of romance in this as well as that was believable as well as swoon-worthy. It also brought upon a pretty fun reveal towards the middle, which seriously had me laughing out loud. Overall, if It Should Have Been You is any indiction of what Page Street's YA line will be like, we're in for quite the treat! I can't suggest this one highly enough, and I look forward to Lynn's next book.

  • Jennifer
    2018-10-20 16:45

    4.5 stars

  • Roxanne
    2018-09-23 14:59

    Thank you to Page Street Kids for a copy of the ARC in exchange for a fair review.It should have been you Here is the link to preorder. Release date is 1/30Clara is still reeling from the murder of her sister Moura it has been five months and a lot of suspicion due to the fact that she was in the house while her sister was murdered. But Clara knows she didn't kill her sister. She just wants to get back to normal, but it is so hard when her mom is losing her battle with grief and people still believe the rumors that she killed her sister. So when Clara gets the email saying It should have been you, she doesn't tell anyone right away. But after she tries to reply and it gets bounce back, she does go see the Detective that was working on Moura's case. When he meets her with suspicion she worries that no one will ever find the killer. So she decides that she has to look into this, not only to clear her name, but to save her life as well.I couldn't stop reading this from the moment I opened the book. This book deals with so much from domestic violence among teens, murder, stalking, inappropriate relationships and so much more. I wanted to shake all the people that found it so easy to believe that someone could or would kill their own sister just because she was left out and jealous. I mean I do know that it happens, but still I found that so frustrating. I admit that I pretty much guessed the killer when certain information was revealed, but my guess is it was designed to be that way, what I didn't see coming was the other part.... I know so vague but spoilers. I don't want to ruin it for you. This is a must read!

  • Marochka
    2018-09-30 14:01

    Неоднозначное у меня впечатление от книги. Сама она, конечно, смешная и наивная. Детектив не особо серьезный и очень предсказуемый. Но при этом, несмотря на то, что детективная линия – основная, книгу мне читать было очень интересно. Я прямо оторваться не могла (ну а вдруг все автор еще интереснее завернет). Для подростков, на мой взгляд, само то. И романтика, и детективные линии. И даже есть, о чем подумать (советы колонки Клары). В целом, очень даже не плохо.И да, мода на умерших «не тех» близняшек прямо кругом.

  • Lindsay
    2018-10-19 19:04

    This started off good. Really good. I was intrigued and wanted to find out who killed Moura. Clara starts receiving threatening emails from a stalker and she is thrust back into the police world with the same detective who couldn't pinpoint her sister's murder and still believes Clara is the culprit. The most believable thing was the detective pinning the blame on Clara when she was innocent and treating her unfairly; I have first hand experience with that. Anyway, Clara is crushing on new student Ben and they succumb to instant love. She investigates her sister's murder by going around to each of Moura's friends and questioning them and asking if they were in a secret relationship. No one likes her except her bff Jenny because everyone liked self-centered, manipulative, and cold Moura and thinks Clara killed her because she yelled at her in public. The story became more ridiculous as I read on.

  • Jennifer
    2018-10-11 12:43

    Received advanced reader copy from publisher via Baker & Taylor book supplierI gave this one 114 pages before I rolled my eyes for the final time and put it aside as a “did not finish.” It was because there were 5 star Goodreads reviews, and the intriguing storyline, that I gave it more than my usual 50 pages. But the story did not flow (interview segments were so choppy), I felt like details were popping out of nowhere (did we know Jenny played tennis before the Tennis Mafia comment? If we were told, it didn’t stick), and I was so sick of reading about the food being eaten (this had NOTHING TO DO WITH THE STORY! I don’t care if they were eating takeout, pulling a pizza from the freezer, etc.).Also of note: the publisher included a note in the ARC (not unusual) and explained that they were introducing a YA publishing line and would be focusing more on cover art and marketing. And, this was the cover they came up with? A cover that invokes a same-sex-relationship? Or at the very least close sibling? When they couldn’t stand each other?? Nope. Just nope. And for me to get annoyed at a cover selection? That is big. I will fall in love with covers, yes. And, covers definitely draw my attention when I’m shopping/roaming the library. But to criticize a cover? Not sure I’ve ever done that before!** No finished date included because I did not want this to count toward my Goodreads challenge.**

  • V.M.
    2018-09-28 16:07

    I got an advanced reader copy of this book and I LOVED it. Lynn Slaughter does an excellent job of keeping the reader's attention from the very first line. You will not want to put this down.

  • Fangirlinfinity21 (Sarah)
    2018-10-10 19:12

    Thanks to Page Street Publishing for sending me an ARC .I really enjoyed this story very much. If you like murder mysteries than this book is right up your alley. I loved watching Castle and Guilt on TV so this book was really like those shows. I liked how the main character was written and how for a minute there believed that she murdered her own sister. However, it had twists and turns along the way. I also never saw the ending coming. It will get you because you won't expect it at the end. I felt like this was an easy read and easy to understand. A good whodunnit book.

  • Erin Cashman
    2018-10-03 15:53

    When Clara Seibert’s twin sister, Moura, a piano prodigy, is killed, many people think Clara is the killer. Then Clara, who is an advice columnist for her school newspaper, starts receiving death threats. Clara investigates the crime on her own, not only to clear her name, but to save herself. She learns that Moura was keeping secrets - dangerous secrets. I could not put down this twisty mystery, it will keep you guessing until the very end!

  • Leah
    2018-10-10 16:58

    Good filler book. Interesting characters and stories. Kept me guessing. However the ending was unrealistic and felt kinda rushed. Would recommend for someone wanting an easy ya mystery.